SA team unveiled for World Championships

Updated: July 22, 2017

​A 24-member national team has been announced by Athletics South Africa for the IAAF World Championships in London next month.
The final team includes all four track and field medallists from last year’s Rio Olympics.
World 400m record holder Wayde van Niekerk will compete in the men’s 200m and 400m sprints, Luvo Manyonga will turn out in the men’s long jump, Caster Semenya will line up in the women’s 800m contest and Sunette Viljoen is in the javelin throw event.
While some B-standard qualifiers were selected, however, a number of athletes missed out, including the likes of in-form distance runner Dominique Scott-Efurd, sprinters Justine Palframan, 400m hurdlers Cornel Fredericks and LJ van Zyl, and race walkers Wayne Snyman and Anel Oosthuizen.

SA team, IAAF World Championships (4-13 August, 2017):


100m: Akani Simbine (AGN), Thando Roto (AGN)
200m: Simbine, Wayde van Niekerk (AFS), Clarence Munyai (AGN)
400m: Van Niekerk, Pieter Conradie (ACNW)
10 000m: Stephen Mokoka (AGN)
110m hurdles: Antonio Alkana (WPA)
Long jump: Luvo Manyonga (AGN), Ruswahl Samaai (CGA), Zarck Visser (CGA)
Shot put: Orazio Cremona (AGN), Jaco Engelbrecht (CGA)
Discus throw: Victor Hogan (BOLA)
Javelin throw: Rocco van Rooyen (WPA)
20km walk: Lebogang Shange (CGA)
Marathon: Lusapho April (EPA), Desmond Mokgobu (CGA), Sibusiso Nzima (CGA)


100m: Carina Horn (AGN)
800m: Caster Semenya (ACNW)
400m hurdles: Wenda Nel (AGN)
Javelin throw: Sunette Viljoen (ACNW)
Marathon: Jenna Challenor (KZNA), Mapaseka Makhanya (CGA)