Final changes made to national team

Updated: July 28, 2017

​A 29-member team will represent South Africa at the IAAF World Championships in London after two more individuals received invitations from the International Association of Athletics Federations.
While discus thrower Victor Hogan and 100m hurdler Rikenette Steenkamp narrowly missed out on the IAAF qualifying criteria, it was confirmed on Friday they had both been invited by the global body to participate in their specialist events after being selected to fill “quotas” in order to complete the fields in their disciplines.
They joined 200m sprinter Justine Palframan and 800m runner Gena Lofstrand, who had previously been added to the team, along with 4x400m relay athletes Ariane Nel and Zoe Engler.
The team was set to be spearheaded by the likes of 400m world record holder Wayde van Niekerk, Olympic 800m champion Caster Semenya, long jump sensation Luvo Manyonga and javelin throw queen Sunette Viljoen.
A total of 14 athletes missed out as they failed to achieve the ASA qualifying standard, though they all achieved the required IAAF criteria. This despite the global body offering to cover the costs of all athletes who had qualified.
While some team members were already in Europe, where they were based during the international season, Athletics South Africa confirmed the majority of the squad would depart local shores for the English capital on Monday evening.

SA team, IAAF World Championships (4-13 August, 2017):


100m: Akani Simbine (AGN), Thando Roto (AGN)
: Simbine, Wayde van Niekerk (AFS), Clarence Munyai (AGN)
: Van Niekerk, Pieter Conradie (ACNW)
10 000m:
Stephen Mokoka (AGN)
110m hurdles
: Antonio Alkana (WPA)
Long jump
: Luvo Manyonga (AGN), Ruswahl Samaai (CGA), Zarck Visser (CGA)
Shot put
: Orazio Cremona (AGN), Jaco Engelbrecht (CGA)
Discus throw
: Victor Hogan (BOLA)
Javelin throw
: Rocco van Rooyen (WPA)
20km walk
: Lebogang Shange (CGA)
: Lusapho April (EPA), Desmond Mokgobu (CGA), Sibusiso Nzima (CGA)


100m: Carina Horn (AGN)
: Justine Palframan (BOLA)
: Caster Semenya (ACNW), Gena Lofstrand (ACNW)
1 500m
: Semenya
100m hurdles
: Rikenette Steenkamp (AGN)
400m hurdles
: Wenda Nel (AGN)
Javelin throw
: Sunette Viljoen (ACNW)
: Jenna Challenor (KZNA), Mapaseka Makhanya (CGA)
4x400m relay
: Semenya, Palframan, Lofstrand, Wenda Nel, Ariane Nel (ACNW), Zoe Engler (KZNA)