SA squad named for World Youth Champs

Updated: May 8, 2017

​A 29-member national preparation squad was announced by Athletics South Africa on Monday for the IAAF World U-18 Championships in Nairobi, Kenya between 12-16 July.
The squad consisted of 16 boys and 13 girls, and while only 11 athletes in total had achieved the required criteria for selection to the final team, the other 18 squad members had all shown promise in their attempts to meet the necessary marks.
Though a number of athletes had either qualified, or were close to qualifying, in more than one event, Athletics SA said international rules prevented youth athletes from competing in multiple events over 400m or further, and the likes of versatile one-lap prospect Sokwakhana Zazini would need to choose a speciality.
The final national team for the biennial age group showpiece would be announced closer to the championships.

SA preparation squad for the World U-18 Championships in Nairobi, Kenya (12-16 July, 2017):


100m: Retshidisitswe Mlenga (AGN), Tshenolo Lemao (AGN)
200m: Mlenga, Lemao
400m: Sokwakhana Zazini (AGN)
800m: Ntuthuko Ndimande (CGA)
1 500m: Siyabonga Ndlovu (AGN), Ronen Oosthuizen (ANWN)
2 000m steeplechase: Robert de Villiers (ACNW), Olebogeng Moremi (ANWN)
110m hurdles: Julian Bogner (AGN), Roelof van der Walt (CGA)
400m hurdles: Zazini
High jump: Breyton Poole (WPA)
Pole vault: Valco van Wyk (BOL)
Long jump: Bogner
Shot put: Jonathan de Lacey Lacey (CGA)
Discus throw: Morne Brandon (CGA), De Lacey Lacey
Javelin throw: Joshua Maas (AMPU), Johannes Schlebusch (AFS)


100m: Rose Xeyi (AGN), Joviale Mbisha (AFS)
200m: Angel Kivido (AFS)
400m: Zeney van der Walt (AGN)
1 500m: Nicole Louw (AFS), Lyndi Roelofse (CGA)
3 000m: Dipuo Mashishi (CGA)
2 000m steeplechase: Shanley Koekemoer (AGN), Cara du Preez (AGN)
400m hurdles: Gontse Morake (AGN), Z van der Walt
Shot put: Meike Strydom (ASWD)
Discus throw: Tharina van der Walt (AFS)
Hammer throw: T van der Walt
Javelin throw: Jana van Schalkwyk (BOLA)