SA squad named for African Junior Champs

Updated: May 10, 2017

​A 44-member national preparation squad has been announced by Athletics South Africa for the African Junior Championships in Tlemcen, Algeria between 29 June and 2 July.
With the continental spectacle forming the pinnacle of the international season for many of the nation’s top Under-20 athletes, a large group of 30 men has been unveiled, including the likes of Gift Leotlela, who earned the 200m silver medal at the World U-20 Championships in Bydgoszcz last year, fellow Olympic sprinter Clarence Munyai, who holds the SA junior 200m record, and discus thrower Werner Visser, who earned gold at the 2015 World U-18 Championships in Cali.
The women’s group, consisting of 14 athletes, is spearheaded by Taylon Bieldt, the national junior record holder in the 100m hurdles who finished seventh in her specialist discipline at the World U-20 Championships last season.
The final national team for the continental age group championships, according to ASA, will be announced closer to the event.

SA preparation squad for the African Junior Championships in Tlemcen, Algeria (29 June – 2 July, 2017):


100m: Thembo Monareng (AGN), Matsoso Tsebo (AFS)
: Clarence Munyai (AGN), Gift Leotlela (AGN), Ethan Noble (WPA), Thando Dlodlo (CGA), Monareng
: Zakithi Nene (KZNA), Braam Bisschop (AGN)
: George Kusche (AGN)
1 500m
: Kusche
10 000m
: Thabo Masina (CGA), Siphiwe Mohlomi (CGA)
3 000m steeplechase
: Kabelo Seboko (CGA)
110m hurdles
: Mpho Tladi (AFS), Levert Pieterse (EPA), Thabo Maganyele (AGN), Shibodze Vutivi (AGN), Marcello Pienaar (WPA)
400m hurdles
: Linford Maree (BOLA), Louwtjie Steenkamp (LIMA)
Pole vault
: Eckhardt van der Watt (BOLA)
Long jump
: Aaron Pedro (CGA)
Triple jump
: Junior Mpefu (BOLA)
Shot put
: Burger Lambechts (AGN), Kyle Blignaut (CGA), Patrick Duvenage (AGN)
Discus throw
: Werner Visser (AGN), Francois Vermeulen (BOLA), Lambrechts, Duvenage
Hammer throw
: Carel Haasbroek (AFS)
Javelin throw
: Werner Dames (ACNW), Anro van Eeden (BOLA)


100m: Simone van der Nest (CGA)
: Van der Nest
: Armoure le Roux (CGA)
: Simonay Weitsz (CGA), Niene Muller (AGN)
1 500m
: Tyler Beling (AFS), Weitsz
3 000m steeplechase
: Tshegofatso Setlhakgoe (AGN), Lesego Mpshe (CGA)
10 000m walk
: Anet Koen (ACNW)
100m hurdles
: Taylon Bieldt (AGN), Velmein Hendricks (CGA), Tanya Ehrke (CGA)
High jump
: Yvonne Robson (AMPU)
Shot put
: Jana Steinmann (ACNW)
Discus throw
: Yolandi Stander (AGN)