SA team named for World Cross Country Champs

Updated: March 8, 2017

Elroy Gelant will spearhead the national team in Kampala

Athletics South Africa has announced a 20-member team for the World Cross Country Championships in Kampala, Uganda on March 26.
In a notice released to members this week, the national federation revealed that national 5 000m record holder Elroy Gelant would lead the senior men’s squad, and national cross country champion Kesa Molotsane would spearhead the senior women’s team.
“Objectives were given to the athletes (in the provisional squad) to demonstrate their readiness to represent South Africa with honour,” ASA said in a circular notice.
“These objectives set in the ASA Selection Criteria compared favourably with 50th position on the 2016 IAAF world ranking List, and not one of the athletes in the ASA National Cross Country Squad managed to achieve these objectives.
“ASA has therefore decided not to enter any individual for the 2017 IAAF World Cross Country Championships. ASA will, however, enter a team in all four of the categories.”
Regardless of the federation’s claim, however, any athletes competing at the global championships would need to contest both individual and team races, as they were always held as combined events.
It was unclear whether ASA would enter a team in the new mixed relay race.

SA team for the World Cross Country Championships in Kampala, Uganda (26 March, 2017):

Senior men (10km): Thabang Mosiako (ACNW), Joel Mmone (ACNW), Elroy Gelant (ACNW), David Manja (ACNW), Precious Mashele (AGN)
Senior women (10km): Kesa Molotsane (AFS), Louisa Leballo (AGN), Andrea Steyn (AGN), Glenrose Xaba (AMPU), Sherilene Gelderblom (ACNW)
Junior men (8km): Kabelo Seboko (CGA), Dais Malebana (AGN), Ryan Mphahlele (CGA), Pakiso Mthembu (AFS), Tumi Lephotho (CGA)
Junior women (6km): Nicole Louw (CGA), Simonay Weitsz (CGA), Lyndi Roelofse (CGA), Nicole van der Merwe (CGA), Cherry-Lee Schoeman (CGA)