Van Niekerk among Laureus nominees

Updated: January 11, 2017

Sprinter Wayde van Niekerk is in line for an accolade at the Laureus World Sports Awards, it was announced on Wednesday, after he was listed among the nominees for Breakthrough of the Year.
Van Niekerk was named alongside Ethiopian distance runner Almaz Ayana, German Formula One driver Nico Rosberg, the Fiji national rugby sevens team, the Iceland national football side and Leicester City Football Club.
Though he won the African 200m title, dipped under 10 seconds in the 100m dash and went unbeaten throughout the 2016 campaign, Van Niekerk’s nomination hinged largely on his performance at the Rio Olympics.
The speedster from Bloemfontein, already named SA Sports Star of the Year and Anoc Male Athlete of the Games, shattered Michael Johnson’s 17-year-old world record by 0.15, clocking 43.03 from lane eight to win gold in the men’s 400m final.