Two more athletes in SA junior squad

Updated: January 26, 2017

Two teenagers have been added to the Athletics South Africa (ASA) Excellence Junior Squad as part of the federation’s new four-year plan to prepare athletes for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.
After announcing a 36-member squad last month, ASA revealed on Wednesday that Meike Strydom and Velmein Hendriks had been included after the appeals period had closed, lifting the tally of athletes to 38.
Strydom earned a silver medal in the women’s shot put at last year’s SA Senior Championships at the age of 15, and 17-year-old Hendriks won gold in the 100m and 100m hurdles events at the AUSC Region 5 Games in Luanda in December.
The squad, consisting of athletes in the Under-20 and U-18 age groups, would be updated again after the SA Junior and Youth Championships in Cape Town in April, in the build-up to various international events later in the season which included the African Junior Championships in Tlemcen in May, the African Youth Championships in Bata in June and the World Youth Championships in Nairobi in July.

SA Junior Excellence Squad:

Boys: Thando Dlodlo (100m/200m), Retshidisitswe Mlenga (100m/200m), Malesela Senona (100m/200m), Gift Leotlela (200m), Clarence Munyai (200m), Phemelo Matlhabe (400m), George Kusche (800m), Mpho Tladi (110m hurdles), Thabo Maganyele (110m hurdles), Silusapho Dingiswayo (110m hurdles), Thapelo Legodi (110m hurdles), Janco van Heyningen (110m hurdles), Thapelo Maholela (110m hurdles), Kefilwe Mogawane (400m hurdles), Linford Maree (400m hurdles), Sokwakhana Zazini (400m hurdles), Liam Pieterse (400m hurdles), Hannes Janse van rensburg (400m hurdles), Chris Moleya (high jump), Burger Lambrecht (shot put), Jason van Rooyen (shot put), Kyle Blignaut (shot put), Morne Brandon (shot put/discus throw) Carel Haasbroek (hammer throw), Johan Grobler (javelin throw), Erich Wiese (javelin throw), Waldo Smit (javelin throw), Werner Dames (javelin throw), Brendon Skinner (javelin throw)

Girls: Taylor Underhay (100m), Tamzin Thomas (200m), Taylon Bieldt (100m hurdles), Velmein Hendriks (100m hurdles), Gezelle Magerman (400m hurdles), Jana Steinman (shot put), Meike Strydom (shot put), Leandri Geel (discus throw), Jo-Ane van Dyk (javelin throw)