ASA names national excellence squad

Updated: January 13, 2017

Olympic 800m champion Caster Semenya is a key member of the new national preparation squad

A 37-member SA Senior Excellence Squad has been announced by Athletics South Africa (ASA) as part of the federation’s long-term plan to assist athletes in the build-up to the 2020 Tokyo Olympics.
The preparation squad was compiled of Tier 1 athletes who achieved top-20 world rankings last year, ASA told members this week, as well as Tier 2 athletes who met IAAF World Championships qualifying standards in the 2016 campaign.
Notable omissions, however, included marathon runners Irvette van Zyl (2:32:20) and Jenna Challenor (2:37:12), who were ranked first and third respectively in the country last season.
While Van Zyl and Challenor both faced injury battles in 2016, they returned to racing late last year, and their performances fell within the qualifying window for the global championships in London in August.
They nonetheless made way in the squad for Mapaseka Makhanya (2:37:19) and Lebogang Phalula (2:38:00).
The progress of athletes in the preparation squad would be monitored at the SA Senior Championships in Potchefstroom in April, ASA confirmed, after which the squad would be updated.

SA 2020 Senior Excellence Squad:

Men: Akani Simbine (100m/200m), Henricho Bruintjies (100m), Clarence Munyai (200m), Gift Leotlela (200m), Wayde van Niekerk (200m/400m), Rynardt van Rensburg (800m), Jacob Rozani (800m), Elroy Gelant (5 000m), Stephen Mokoka (10 000m/marathon), Antonio Alkana (110m hurdles), LJ van Zyl (400m hurdles, Lindsay Hanekom (400m hurdles), LeRoux Hamman (400m hurdles), Luvo Manyonga (long jump), Ruswahl Samaai (long jump), Stefan Brits (long jump), Dylon Cotter (long jump), Lusapho April (marathon), Sibusiso Nzima (marathon), Desmond Mokgobu (marathon), Benedict Moeng (marathon), Xolisa Tyali (marathon), Tumelo Motlagale (marathon), Lebogang Shange (20km walk), Wayne Snyman (20km walk), Marc Mundell (50km walk)

Women: Carina Horn (100m), Alyssa Conley (100m/200m), Caster Semenya (400m/800m/1 500m), Dominique Scott (10 000m), Wenda Nel (400m hurdles), Lynique Prinsloo (long jump), Sunette Viljoen (javelin throw), Lebo Phalula (marathon), Mapaseka Makhanya (marathon), Lebogang Phalula (marathon), Anel Oosthuizen (20km walk)