Updated: May 25, 2016


Lusapho April, who won his third Hannover Marathon title in April, will lead the men's marathon team in Rio

A six-member marathon team has been announced by the SA Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee (Sascoc) for the Rio Olympics in August.
While naming an initial 24-member squad in seven sports on Wednesday, Sascoc confirmed that three men and three women would compete in the classic 42km race at the Games.
The men’s team would be led by three-time Hannover Marathon winner Lusapho April, joined by Sibusiso Nzima and Lungile Gongqa.
Stephen Mokoka, the fastest among a long list of qualifiers after setting a personal best of 2:07:40 in Shanghai in November, made himself unavailable for selection, in order to focus on the track.
April (2:11:27), Nzima (2:11:43) and Gongqa (2:11:59) were ranked second, third and fourth among the athletes who had dipped under the qualifying standard of 2:19:00 since the donestic window period opened in May last year.
The women’s team would be spearheaded by in-form athlete Irvette van Zyl (2:32:30), backed by Christine Kalmer (2:33:43) and Lebo Phalula (2:33:48).
The trio were the quickest of all the women who achieved the 2:45:00 standard.
Sascoc said the rest of the national athletics team would be announced on July 14, three days after the qualifying deadline for track and field events.