Updated: May 12, 2016

A 37-member preliminary team was announced by Athletics South Africa on Thursday for the World Under-20 Championships in Bydgoszcz, Poland in July.
The squad included world youth discus throw champion Werner Visser, as well as speedsters Taylon Bieldt (100m hurdles) and Niki Marich (400m), who formed part of the mixed 4x400m relay team that earned silver at the global U-18 showpiece in Cali, Colombia last year.
“Relay teams will be selected after the ASA Night Series (relay meeting) that will take place on May 24 in Polokwane,” the national federation told its members in a statement.
The final team for the biennial U-20 spectacle would be released on June 27.


100m: Gift Leotlela (AGN), Clarence Munyai (AGN)
200m: Leotlela, Munyai
400m: Niki Marich (CGA), Derrick Mokaleng (AGN)
800m: George Kusche (AGN), Theuns Ehlers (AGN)
10 000m: Kwanele Mthembu, Kabelo Melamu
3 000m steeplechase: Ikageng Gaorekwe (CGA)
110m hurdles: Thabo Maganyele (AGN), Mpho Tladi (CGA)
400m hurdles: Kefilwe Mosimanegape (AGN), Masego Sesele (AFS)
High jump: Chris Moleya (AGN)
Pole vault: Coleman Brits (AGN)
Shot put: Burger Lambrecht (AGN), Jason Van Rooyen (CGA)
Discus throw: Lambrecht, Werner Visser (AGN)
Hammer throw: Carel Haasbroek (AFS)
Javelin throw: Erich Wiese (ACNW), Johan Grobler (ACNW)


100m: Tamzin Thomas (WPA), Madia Ehlers (AGN)
200m: Thomas, Ehlers
400m: Jeanelle Griesel (AGN), Armoure Le Roux (CGA)
800m: Liza Kellerman (CGA), Simonay Weitsz (CGA)
1 500m: Weitsz
100m hurdles: Taylon Bieldt (AGN)
400m hurdles: Gezelle Magerman (AGN), Belindie Van der Merwe (AGN)
Discus throw: Leandri Geel (CGA), Yolandi Stander (AGN)
Javelin throw: Jo-Ane van Dyk (ACNW)
Heptathlon: Nienka du Toit (BOLA)