Updated: March 15, 2016


Both Varsity Athletics meetings will go ahead this season, organisers revealed on Tuesday, with the postponed second leg re-scheduled for next month.
The first meeting in the student campaign was called off earlier this month due to protests around the country causing safety and security concerns.
Having confirmed last week that the Johannesburg leg would be held as scheduled this Friday, Varsity Sports said the Stellenbosch meeting would now be held on April 7.
“We are extremely excited that both Varsity Athletics meetings will be going ahead because this is a very important year for all the athletes, with the Rio Olympics taking place later in the year,” said Varsity Sports chief executive Duitser Bosman.
This year’s series will be held under a new format, with 12 tertiary institutions taking part.
The top eight varsities will compete in the A-division, and the other four will contest the B-division.
In the A-division, the points compiled by the top 15 performers from each university (based on IAAF tables) will count towards the team scores, while the points of the top 10 athletes will be counted in the B-division.
“At Varsity Sports we offer student athletes the platform to be the best they can be while waving the South African flag high, and we are very proud of all their accomplishments in their various fields thus far,” Bosman said.

Participating universities in the 2016 Varsity Athletics series:


University of Stellenbosch (Maties)
University of the Western Cape (UWC)University of Johannesburg (UJ)
North-West University of Potchefstroom (NWU-Puk)
University of the Free State (UFS-Kovsies)
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU)
University of Pretoria (Tuks)
Tshwane University of Technology (TUT)


University of Cape Town (UCT)
Central University of Technology (CUT)
University of Limpopo (UL)
Vaal University of Technology (VUT)