Updated: February 11, 2016

An 11-member national team has been announced by University Sport South Africa for the World Student Cross Country Championships in Cassino, Italy next month.
Four non-travelling reserves have also been included as back-up for the squad.
The men’s team includes Eastern Cape athlete Mariano Eesou, who finished 18th at the previous edition of the university showpiece in Entebbe, Uganda two years ago.
The women’s team will be spearheaded by Thembi Baloyi, who was the country’s star performer in Entebbe, where she finished ninth.
The national squad will go in search of their first medal in 12 years at the biennial championships.
Rene Kalmer is the only South African to have earned an individual medal in the history of the event, after earning silver in the women’s race in Santiago de Compostela, Spain in 2002.
The nation bagged five medals, however, in the men’s and women’s team competitions between 1996 and 2004.
This year’s squad will hope to have enough quality and depth to end the lengthy medal drought and step on the podium.

SA team, World Student Cross Country Championships, Cassino (12 March, 2016):

Men: Collen Muladzi (TUT), Merlin Klaaste (UWC), Mariano Eesou (NMMU), Joel Madiba (TUT), Thamsanqa Khonco (UJ), Anthony Timoteus (UWC). Non-travelling reserves: Tebogo Ndwandwe, Martin Nkoe

Women: Thembi Baloyi (TUT), Kesa Molotsane (UFS), Portia Ngwenya (TUT), Cherise Sims (NMMU), Palesa Madoa (NWU). Non-travelling reserves: Sherilene Gelderblom (NWU), Nokuthula Mokoana (TUT)