Updated: January 15, 2016


Athletics South Africa named a 42-member provisional squad on Friday for the African Cross Country Championships in Cameroon next month.
The federation said athletes needed to prove their fitness at certain events over the next three weeks in order to be included in the final team.
Senior men and women, as well as junior men, needed to compete at the SA 10km Championships in Sasolburg on February 6.
Junior women had to turn out in the 5000m event at a provincial league meeting in Germiston on January 23.
“The selectors will use the results of the prescribed races as a guide in the selection of the final team, but will not necessary select the athletes in the order that they finish,” ASA said in a statement.
Jeromy Andreas and Thamsanqa Khonco were both initially included in the squad, in the senior and junior men’s divisions respectively, but were unavailable for selection.
The final team would be announced on February 8.

SA squad for the African Cross Country Championships in Yaounde, Cameroon (12 March, 2016):

Senior Men (10km)

David Manja, Mthobisi Baloyi, Thabang Mosiake, Samuel Matsepe, Thabang Masihleho, Precious Mashele, Vuyisile Tshoba, Derocious Makhobalo, Lucky Mtshali, Tumelo Motlagale, Creel Chavalala, Samuel Mathabatha

Senior Women (10km)

Andrea Steyn, Liziwe Mabona, Murendwa Davhana, Thembi Baloyi, Glenrose Xaba, Keneilwe Sesing, Lorraine Novela, Thandi Sihohle, Michelle Strydom, Janet Dlamini, Makhosi Mhlongo

Junior Men (8km)

Dais Malebana, Ruben Dlepu, Dylan van der Merwe, Ikageng Gaorekwe, Kabelo Melamu, Kabelo Seboko, Ryan Mphahlele, Siyabonga Mabena, William Potgieter, Rowhaldo Ratz

Junior Women (6km)

Tshegofatso Setlhakgoe, Carina Viljoen, Cheryl-Lee Schoeman, Hanli Etsebeth, Lesego Mpshe, Nicole van der Merwe, Salvation Babedi, Simonay Weitsz, Thobile Vilakazi