Updated: August 12, 2015

Dumisane Hlaselo is one of three athletes invited by the IAAF to the World Championships

Middle-distance runners Dumisane Hlaselo, Dikotsi Lekopa and Tumisang Monnatlala have been added to the final SA team for the World Championships in Beijing later this month.
The trio were included in the squad on Wednesday after the International Association of Athletics Federations (IAAF) gave them a lifeline by inviting them based on rankings, in order to reach target numbers in their respective events.
Hlaselo, who holds a season’s best of 3:36.36, narrowly missed the required qualifying standard by 0.16 in the 1 500m, while Lekopa (8:32.17) and Monnatlala (8:33.07) fell short of the standard of 8:28.00 in the 3 000m steeplechase.
“Athletics South Africa would like to extend its appreciation to the IAAF for providing our athletes with the opportunity to participate with the world’s best athletes and for covering all the cost of the additional athletes,” ASA said in a statement.
The inclusion of the trio increases the size of the SA team to a squad of 34 athletes.
“ASA would like to congratulate the entire team and are looking forward with the rest of South Africa to their participation and achievements during the IAAF World Championships in Beijing as they have been on top form this season,” the federation said.

SA team for the World Championships in Beijing, China (22-30 August, 2015):

Men: Henricho Bruintjies (100m), Akani Simbine (100m/200m), Anaso Jobodwana (100m/200m), Wayde van Niekerk (400m), Berend Koekemoer (400m), Rynardt van Rensburg (800m), Johan Cronje (1 500m), Dumisane Hlaselo (1 500m), Stephen Mokoka (10 000m), Antonio Alkana (110m hurdles), LJ van Zyl (400m hurdles), Cornel Fredericks (400m hurdles), Dikotsi Lekopa (3 000m steeplechase), Tumisang Monnatlala (3 000m steeplechase), Zarck Visser (long jump), Ruswahl Samaai (long jump), Khotso Mokoena (long jump/triple jump), Orazio Cremona (shot put), Jaco Engelbrecht (shot put), Victor Hogan (discus throw), Rocco van Rooyen (javelin throw), Willem Coertzen (decathlon), Lebogang Shange (20km walk), Marc Mundell (50km walk), Benedict Moeng (marathon), Desmond Mokgobu (marathon), Lucas Jani (marathon), Sibusiso Nzima (marathon)

Women: Carina Horn (100m), Justine Palframan (200m/400m), Caster Semenya (800m), Wenda Nel (400m hurdles), Sunette Viljoen (javelin throw), Tanith Maxwell (marathon)