Updated: August 11, 2015

A 31-member team has been announced by Athletics South Africa for the World Championships in Beijing at the end of August.
Caster Semenya, the 2009 world 800m champion, and Victor Hogan, who ended fifth in the discus throw at the Moscow 2013 edition, were added to a provisional 29-member team after achieving the qualifying standards in their respective events during a 10-day ASA window period for special circumstances.
Semenya clocked 2:00.72 in Linz, Austria on August 1, dipping under the required 2:01.00 standard, and Hogan launched a 64.56m effort in Leiria, Portugal last week.
While Hogan did not reach the 65.00m qualifying standard in his event, ASA athletes coordinator Hezekiel Sepeng said he was selected for the global showpiece as the African champion, after proving to the federation he was in form.
The final squad includes five former World Championships medallists – Semenya, who has twice reached the podium, as well as 1 500m runner Johan Cronje, the only SA medallist in Moscow, 400m hurdler LJ van Zyl, versatile jumper Khotso Mokoena and javelin thrower Sunette Viljoen.

SA team for the IAAF World Championships in Beijing, China (22-30 August, 2015):

Men: Henricho Bruintjies (100m), Akani Simbine (100m/200m), Anaso Jobodwana (100m/200m), Wayde van Niekerk (400m), Berend Koekemoer (400m), Rynardt van Rensburg (800m), Johan Cronje (1 500m), Stephen Mokoka (10 000m), Antonio Alkana (110m hurdles), LJ van Zyl (400m hurdles), Cornel Fredericks (400m hurdles), Zarck Visser (long jump), Ruswahl Samaai (long jump), Khotso Mokoena (long jump/triple jump), Orazio Cremona (shot put), Jaco Engelbrecht (shot put), Victor Hogan (discus throw), Rocco van Rooyen (javelin throw), Willem Coertzen (decathlon), Lebogang Shange (20km walk), Marc Mundell (50km walk), Benedict Moeng (marathon), Desmond Mokgobu (marathon), Lucas Jani (marathon), Sibusiso Nzima (marathon)

Women: Carina Horn (100m), Justine Palframan (200m/400m), Caster Semenya (800m), Wenda Nel (400m hurdles), Sunette Viljoen (javelin throw), Tanith Maxwell (marathon)