Updated: May 24, 2015

Jackie Mekler en route to one of his five Comrades victories

Former winners Jackie Mekler, Sam Tshabalala and Bernard Gomersall will be among the dignitaries firing cut-off guns for various medals at the 90th Comrades Marathon next week.
eThekwini Mayor James Nxumalo will fire the start gun in Durban at 5.30am, the organisers have confirmed.
At the finish, the cut-off for Wally Hayward medals, awarded to runners who finish between 11th position and six hours (6:00), will be signalled by Mekler.
The oldest living winner of the annual race, Mekler secured five Comrades victories in his competitive career.
The silver medal time limit, for runners who complete the 87.72km distance between 6:00 and 7:30, will be closed by Tshabalala, who became the first black man to win the race in 1989.
The cut-off gun for Bill Rowan medals, which goes to runners who finish between 7:30 and 9:00, will be fired by Gomersall of Great Britain who won the race 50 years ago.
The penultimate time limit for bronze medals, awarded to runners who finish between 9:00 and 11:00, will be signalled by former Comrades Marathon Association board member Poobie Naidoo who has completed the race 24 times.
Finally, the 12:00 cut-off for Vic Clapham medals will be fired by CMA chairman Macdonald Chitja, who hopes to complete his 17th Comrades in time to bring an official end to the race.
The 90th edition of the prestigious ultra-distance challenge, an ‘up’ run between Durban and Pietermaritzburg, will be held on May 31.